You will play best 2 out of 3 sets, no ad scoring. First Player (or team in doubles) to win 6 games in a set wins the set. Example: Player/Team A has won 6 games and Player/Team B has won 5 games. If Player/Team A wins the next game, they win 7-5. If Player/Team B wins the next game, it is tied at 6-6. You would then play a 12 point Tie Break, which means first Player or team to win 12 points wins the Tie Break, and therefore the set. You must win by 2 points in a Tie Break. Play continues until a Player or team wins by 2 points.
Scoring will be based on an individual basis, and 1 point will be awarded for each game won. Points will be tallied each week and players ranked based on # of points won. At the end of season Tournament, Rankings will determine seeding in the Tournament.
After each set, you will rotate and play with a different team.
Example of scoring for Player/Team A:
Set 1: Individual/Team A vs. B (A win 6-2) A wins = 1 point // B loses = 0 points
Set 2: Individual/Team A vs. C (A win 6-4) A wins = 1 point // C loses = 0 points
Set 3: Individual/Team A vs. D (D win 6-0) A loses = 0 points // D wins = 1 point
At the end of the match, Individual/Team A is 2-1.
Each match will be given 1.5 hours to finish. Whichever individual has won the most sets and/or games at the end of the 1.5 hours wins the match.
ORDER OF RECEIVING IN DOUBLES
The team which is due to receive in the first game of a set shall decide which player shall receive the first point in the game. Similarly, before the second game starts, their opponents shall decide which player shall receive the first point of that game.
The player who was the receiver's partner for the first point of the game shall receive the second point and this rotation shall continue until the end of the game and the set. After the receiver has returned the ball, either player in a team can hit the ball.
The point is lost if both players touch the ball when returning it.
Case 1: Is one member of a doubles team allowed to play alone against the opponents? No.
Case 2: In a doubles match, the receiver's partner touches the net before the ball that has been served touches the ground outside the correct service court. What is the correct decision? The receiving team loses the point because the receiver's partner touched the net while the ball was in play.
Case 3: A ball that has just been served hits the receiver or in doubles the receiver's partner before it touches the ground. Which player wins the point? The server wins the point, unless it is a service let.
Case 4: In doubles, where are the server's partner and receiver's partner allowed to stand? The server's partner and the receiver's partner may take any position on their own side of the net, inside or outside the court. However, if a player is creating a hindrance to the opponent(s), the hindrance rule should be used.
Case 5: During a standard game or a tie-break game in doubles, if there is an error in the order of receiving, this shall remain as altered until the end of the game in which the error is discovered. For the next game in which they are the receivers in that set, the partners shall then resume the original order of receiving.